Twitter

Monday, March 20, 2017

Virginia State Police Allocates 173% More Hours Each Year to the VCheck Firearm Program than for RSO’s to Be Able to Register, Re-register and Update Data Changes to Avoid a Felony



Hours of operation, the ability to access the Virginia State Police is what this post will be about.
 
Of Virginia’s 22,588 (October 2016 count) Registered Sex Offenders 40% are incarcerated, 20% are under VA-DOC supervision and 40% are under Virginia State Police supervision. So that’s 60% that must re-register every 30, 90, 120 or 365 days each year. Plus anytime the RSO moves, changes jobs, enrolls or un-enrolls in school, buys or sells a vehicle or deletes or create san email address they must go in-person to a Virginia State Police location within either 3 days (not business days) or 30 minutes (for email and Instant Messenger) per Virginia law. 

Some RSO’s might go to their local police or sheriff’s office for VSP Registry changes but experience has taught most RSO’s that’s a risk with a possible felony punishment. Registration paperwork has been known to take forever to get from a local authority to the VSP or it has been lost all together, so most VA RSO’s go directly to the VSP. 

60% of the RSO population that utilizes the VSP locations is 13,177 people. The majority of those people must re-register 4 times per year (every 90 days) but some do so through the mail 2 or 3 of those 4 times. But then there are those data changes and in the last 10 years we’ve personally learned that averages one visit per year and yet we’ve never changed our residence or employment and most RSO’s do. 

So let’s go with a very conservative average of 2 visits to a VSP location per year for the 13,177 RSO’s. 

A VSP Trooper or VSP employee spends an average of 20 minutes with each RSO who comes in to re-register or update their data. 

That works out to be  26,354 visits per year to a VSP location by Virginia RSO’s at 20 minutes each that’s 8,784 hours in 2015 was needed to manage all the Registered Sex Offenders in Virginia. 

The VSP location hours average around 8:30AM to 4PM weekdays only. They are not open evenings, weekends or on holidays*. The VSP SO Hotline (804) 674-2825 is available 8:15AM to 4:45PM weekdays only. No evenings, weekends or on holidays*. 

* VSP holidays include:
·         The 4, 3-day holidays (Presidents Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day and Columbus Day) per year.
·         The 2, 4-day holidays (Lee-Jackson/MLK weekend and Thanksgiving/Black Friday weekend) per year.
·         Plus the possibility that Christmas, New Years Day, Independence Day or Veterans Day could land on a Friday or Monday OR if they land on a Saturday or a Sunday then either that Friday or Monday will be taken as a holiday. That’s 4 more possible 3-day weekends, per year. 

Now, the Virginia State Police is in charge of running all criminal background checks for all Virginia Firearm Sellers, that program is called VCheck. 

Let’s compare how accessible the Virginia State Police is for 60% of our Sex Offender population versus Virginia Firearm Sellers. 

VSP VCheck is available from 8AM to 10PM, seven days a week, including holidays, except for December 25. Plus an 800-telephone line is utilized as an alternate method should a firearms dealer lose Internet connection or experience problems with his or her computer. 

Apples to apples? 
·               The VSP’s VCheck is available 6.5 more hours everyday than the VSP locations are for RSO’s.
·               The VSP’s VCheck is available every weekend, with 52 weekends that’s 104 additional days per year that VCheck is available but not the VSP locations for RSO’s.
·               The VSP’s VCheck is available every holiday, except Christmas. That’s 11 VSP observed holidays that VCheck is available but the VSP locations are not for RSO’s.
·               Virginia State Police VCheck is available 14 hours per day for 364 days every year.
·               Virginia State Police Locations for RSO’s is available (depending on the location) 7.5 hours per day for 248 days per year. But as most RSO’s have learned over the years the VSP Trooper or employee manning the SO duties might be on lunch break so you wait for them to return.
·               Virginia State Police is available for 5,096 hours per year to the VCheck Program.
·               Virginia State Police is officially available for 1,860 hours per year (assuming all 7.5 hours of operation, there is an available employee) for Registered Sex Offenders to register, re-register and change any data that’s required by law.  

The Virginia State Police gives 2.7 times more hours of operation per year for the VCheck Program than they do for Virginia Registered Sex Offenders to comply with VA law. 

50 States: Juvenile Registration as Sex Offenders - Public, Private or Not at All?


No Registration for Juveniles:

  1. Alaska
  2. Connecticut
  3. Hawaii
  4. Nebraska
  5. West Virginia
  6. District of Columbia
State that have Private (Authorities Only) Registries:
  1. Arizona                           for Tier/Level 1 AND some Juveniles
  2. Arkansas                        for some Juveniles
  3. Colorado*                   for Juveniles
  4. Delaware                     for Tier/Level 1
  5. Idaho                           for Juveniles
  6. Illinois                         for Juveniles
  7. Maryland*                  for Juveniles
  8. Massachusetts             for Tier/Level 1 AND 2’s AND some Juveniles
  9. Michigan*                   for Juveniles
  10. Minnesota                   for Tier/Level 1 AND 2’s AND Juveniles
  11. Nevada*                        for Tier/Level 0 AND 1’s
  12. New Hampshire           for Tier/Level 1 AND Juveniles
  13. New Jersey                  for Tier/Level 1 AND some 2’s AND some Juveniles
  14. New York                     for Tier/Level 1 AND Juveniles
  15. North Carolina             for Juveniles
  16. Oklahoma*                     for Juveniles
  17. Pennsylvania*              for Juveniles
  18. Rhode Island                for Tier/Level 1 AND Juveniles
  19. Tennessee*                  for Juveniles
  20. Vermont                           for Juveniles until age of 18 then placed on Internet
  21. Wisconsin                     for Tier/Level 1 AND 2’s AND Juveniles
  22. Wyoming*                    for Juveniles 
State has Automatic Removal from Registry for Juveniles:
  1. New Hampshire               at age 17
  2. Idaho                                  at age 21
  3. Maryland*                         at age 21
  4. Missouri                         at age 21         (for some)
  5. Oklahoma *                       at age 21
  6. Arizona                               at age 25
  7. Texas                                  at 10th year OR end of jurisdiction which ever comes first
State allows a Court Petition for Removal from Registry for Juveniles: